Winner of Premier's Sustainability Award

Godfrey Hirst wins special award.

Dr Gillian Sparkes, The Hon. Ryan Smith MP, Tim Maishman, Eleanor Smith-Waters, both of Godfrey Hirst and winners of the Premier's Recognition Award, Catirona Rowntree and Anita Roper, CEO Sustainability Victoria at the Premier's Sustainability Awards 2011 held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on 9th June 2011.

The Premier's Recognition Award is a special award chosen by the Victorian Premier, Ted Baillieu MLA, from the winners of eight sustainability award categories.

Godfrey Hirst Carpets was chosen as the most outstanding winner on the night edging out healthy competition from AGL and Grocon entries. The company has reduced its impact on the environment in a creative and innovative way, while reducing costs and increasing its competitive edge across Australia and the world.

Godfrey Hirst Carpets' major initiatives include continued reduction in emissions, electricity, gas and waste generation per metre of carpet produced and the development and manufacture of eco+ and Redbook green carpets made from renewably sourced polymer.

Godfrey Hirst Carpets Group Operations Officer Mr Tim Maishman gratefully accepted both awards, stating "The Premier's Sustainability Awards is a valuable opportunity to acknowledge the leadership, innovation and environmental initiatives implemented by all entrants. Winning these awards is fantastic recognition of our achievements in the minds of our employees, key suppliers and customers, for which we are most grateful".